Anxiety…why can’t you ever just take a hike…

image

Done in 2013, when trying to keep anxiety in check

Anyone else out there deal with anxiety…almost every single waking second of their day?

Who am I kidding, I wish it was just the waking hours…even in my sleep I have nightmares and wake up with a panic attack.

I’m not asking for much here anxiety.

Just one day out of the whole week, if you could just take a break.

Get some shut eye, get your beauty sleep. Then when you’re ready to come back to work you can kick my ass for all I care. Just one day would be nice.

But since you are a workaholic…I am required to get creative if I want to be able to handle you daily! For today I have to remember.

The serenity prayer

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot control, the courage to change to things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference

The other serenity prayer

God, grant me the serenity to stop beating myself for not doing things perfectly, the courage to forgive myself because I’m working on doing better, and the wisdom to know that you already love me just the way I am.

Whatever happens happens. There is no need to worry and prepare for something that could potentially happen, or that is going to happen. The truth is…nothing actually has happened yet. Things are fine, are good. In this moment, things are okay. In this minute, this second, things are okay. That’s all I can handle. This exact second, and now the next second. Things will be okay even if they do not stay this way. I have handled it before. I can handle it now, if not better because I’ve grown and learned.

Froo

Leave a Reply

